Swap homes with us?

We'd love to hear from you

(English, Deutsch)

Halstenbek, SH, Pinneberg, Germany

Home swap



We'd love to visit

Serendipity , Oceania

We are open to the following

Home swap

People in our family who will be exchanging

2 adults  - 3 children

We are a family of 4, soon to be 5 members. These's Me, Tabea (German), I am self employed working as a sign language interpreter - Dave (Australian), a Senior Bank Officer, works in Hamburg central, Benjamin, now 4 s old and Jonathan, 2 years old. By the time we wish to make our first exchange, Benjamin will be 5, Jonathan 3 and a newborn baby will be added into the mix.

Our home shows a couple of our family values: we enjoy a tv-less home for our kids, there is plenty of reading material in English and German available for adults and kids. The kitchen is big and a center piece for us because we enjoy our meals together. High tech, high speed DSL internet and WIFI connections throughout the house and use of computer/internet is all available - big Bose speaker system for any Ipod/Iphone is in the lounge.

Any family coming here will not be alone because we have other family members living close by: so any emergency will be taken care of and help is available around the corner, also transport from the airport could be pre-arranged.

We don't have any pets and would not like any to be brought into our house because of prevailing allergies.

There is a strict non-smoking policy in our house.
We live in a charming, white, relative new-looking duplex built around 2003 (not sure about the exact year it was built) with 5 rooms and private garden.

Ground floor consists of a big eat-in kitchen with attached laundry/pantry containing a good quality dryer, washing machine pantry and storage, a foyer with plenty of place to hang your jackets and plenty of storage space for shoes as well as a big lounge room. Lounge room has seating for 4 people but can be enlarged to seat 6 if the extension for the table is used. We also have a small children so there is also a matching mini table and chairs for the kids too. You will find an indoor swing and kiddy corner there as well as a big seating area for comfort (no tv!). The lounge opens up with two wide glass doors into the back yard with Hollywood swing and a sand box for kids. There is a small guest bathroom as well.

One level up you'll find the main bedroom area with a master bedroom (extra large double bed and baby cot), kids bedroom (a two level pirate ship bed for two kids. (One on top of the other not side-by-side), "normal" sized, so adults could sleep in the lower bed comfortably). This room also has a baby change table and heating unit above. There are also plenty of toys - more for boys though. Another room is office space with pc. The one big bathroom has a full bath tub as well as a deluxe shower.

The top level upstairs contains the,"attic" room fully decked out as office space with heating and lighting (not a true attic in the sense of the word). This room is totally OK to sleep two more adults if you like. if you use the wide sofa bed and the other matress bed in the corner with reading light. We use it here, at the moment as a guest room.

It is a comfortable family house, people with kids will feel right at home - that's why the pictures I have taken show the spaces as used. The whole living space is 115 square meters. Outside the garden, our car entryway with one car carport adds to it.

We live in Halstenbek, which is basically a suburb to Hamburg proper. There is a bus connection right at our doorstep, 8 minute walk will get you to an S-Bahn-Station (Hamburg train system). Getting into Hamburg center takes about 20 minutes ride through on one line. Easy access to an Autobahn/freeway exit on the other side of the village, which gives very good access to the north sea beaches (about 45 min ride by car on freeway).

Restaurants (greek/Italian/German/Snack/Grill) in walking distance, about 400 m to bakery, post office and two different kind of supermarkets. Bikes (male bike and kiddy bikes) can be made available as well as kid's bike trailer seating 2.

Hamburg is a well known metropole area with lots and lots to do and see. The river Elbe cuts the city in half, the harbour dominates the south side, the main city center is located north of the Elbe. Hamburg is an arty place that caters to every taste in ballet, theater, concerts, museums, opera, but especially musicals and so forth. Any place can be reached within about 30 minutes by our very good public transport system that operates throughout the night on weekends.

The airport is about 20 minutes away by car, to get to us from the airport by public transport requires a bit more time because of circular routes.

The wider Hamburg area is very green and leafy, lots of tourist attractions can be reached easily - for instance Bremen or Lübeck, Lüneburg, the Hamburg Hagenbeck Zoo or various smaller and bigger museums.

Convenient public transport, Central heating, Parking, Internet access, Pet-free home, Smoke-free home, Use of bicycle(s)